Half syn cake

20120607-114720.jpg

I have made this cake a few times, I love it! A whole cake for just half a syn! I tend to vary it by changing the fruit that I include as a filling/topping. When I have making this to share I make the whole cake using two sponge layers. If I am baking as a treat I use one spomge layer, cut it in half to make half a cake.

 

This variation here is one I made for a previous Slimming World taster session.

 

Ingredients:

 

100g quark

 

4 eggs

 

5 tablespoons granulated sweetener

 

1 teaspoon baking powder (0.5 syns)

 

2 x 1 teaspoons vanilla extract

 

200g fromage frais

 

fruit of your choice (I used Kiwi and strawberries)

 

Method:

 

  1.  Separate the eggs and beat the whites until stiff
  2.  In another bowl, mix the yolks, 1 teaspoon vanilla extract, baking powder, quark and 4 tablespoons of sweetener
  3.  Whisk half of the egg whites into the yolks mixture, then carefully fold in the rest
  4.  Pour mixture into two shallw cake tins lined with baking paper. Bake in a pre-heated 180C oven for 20 minutes or until golden on top and cooked through.
  5.  Mix the fromage frais, 1 tablespoon sweetener and 1 teaspoon vanilla extract together
  6.  Spread the fromage frais mixture over the cooled cake and top with fruit (I used 150g raspberries) or jam
  7.  Slice, serve and enjoy!

 

Leave a comment